Finding the right lawyer is not another complication;
It's a step toward a better resolution.

Helping You Get Results

In Your Workers' Compensation
Or Personal Injury Case

Finding the right lawyer is not another complication;
It's a step toward a better resolution.

Is it criminal to text while driving in Colorado?

| Aug 17, 2018 | Uncategorized |

Distracted driving has become an increasingly problematic behavior on today’s roads. Drivers who use their cell phones behind the wheel are frequently the cause of serious accidents that lead to equally serious injuries.

In an attempt to combat distracted driving, Colorado has taken some specific measures directed at drivers. It is important to understand the penalties and ramifications of these measures so you can avoid them. It is just as important to understand how often injuries result from negligent drivers and what you can do if you suffer an injury as a result of this behavior.

Particulars of Colorado texting-while-driving law

Colorado enacted a law in July 2017 that increased the penalty for texting while driving to $300. However, the law does not specifically prohibit texting while driving, but rather texting while driving in a “careless or imprudent manner.” This may seem like a technicality, because texting while driving most often leads to careless driving. The bottom line, however, is that use of a cell phone behind the wheel increases the chances of dangerous crashes on Colorado roadways.

Penalties and risk of crashes

Depending on the severity of the offense, texting while driving can be criminal under Colorado’s distracted driving laws. Careless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense.

Distracted driving leads to serious accidents in Colorado which can result in personal injury. Driving distracted, such as texting while driving, is a case of negligence behind the wheel when it comes to injuries sustained as a result of a crash.

 

Penalties and risk of crashes

Depending on the severity of the offense, texting while driving can be criminal under Colorado’s distracted driving laws. Careless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense. That penalty also comes with four points on the driver’s license and a fine of $300.

Subsequent offenses carry even higher penalties. In addition to four points on the driver’s license, there is a fine of $1,000 and up to one year of imprisonment, or both.

Therefore, distracted driving can lead not only to serious injuries but also criminal charges. The risks of distracted driving are too high to run. 

 

FindLaw Network
The Law Offices of
W. Dan Mahoney, P.C.
Office Location:

700 17th St.
Suite 1300
Denver, CO 80202

Contact Information:

FAX: 303-407-2400

Map